The Black Hole of Recruiting

I’ve been looking for work since May of 2009. I’ve tried all of the traditional methods and techniques and have come to several hard realizations. Today I received a response from my latest efforts which has been typical over the course of my unemployment adventure. While I normally don’t bother, I just couldn’t help but respond to the solicitation to add my resume to another database.  Below is my reply to Ann:

Ann,

I can’t tell you how many times my fellow professionals and I who are currently seeking opportunities have heard the phrase “If you’d like to send us your resume in Word, we would be glad to add you to our confidential database”. While I fully understand the ultimate necessity to gather information into an easily queried, keyword searchable database; what this method critically lacks is the professional, conversational component which enables a candidate to transfer their passion and vision as well as articulate their personality and show their capability to be innovative and creative. These truly are the foundational elements of exceptional performance and sustained success.

Further complicating the cold keyword/key-phrase database archival method you’ve suggested is the fact that any experienced professional will have broad transferable capabilities and skills that would require either several customized resumes or a voluminous tome akin to a short story. Truly experienced and talented individuals would also be able, and often very willing and excited, to bridge into other roles, markets and career path opportunities if they became aware of those opportunities available to them.

When I submit a resume I research the company and fully dissect the advertised position duties, responsibilities and requirements before I write a targeted and customized resume highlighting all of my relative skills, experience and goals. I do my best to provide insight into more than just my employment history littered with technical jargon and acronyms. It’s personal and my family depends and relies on me being the best I can be and doing the best I can do.

Understand that resumes are static snapshot outlines. There are vast stories to be told between the lines and bullet points. Each past experience can branch into a multitude of new possibilities and every lesson learned yesterday can prove indispensable and even transformational to some business somewhere, today or tomorrow. Breakthrough ideas and solutions to seemingly insurmountable problems can be trapped inside the black hole of a database.

Best regards,

Jeff Williams

~ by Jeff Williams on March 31, 2010.

 
